Hantspol CC

Hantspol Cycling Club
Steve Wiltshire

c/o Police Station
64 Bridge Road
Park Gate,
SO31 9AH

Phone: 07748 933012
Fax: 023 9289 1940
Email Us
Website: http://www.hantspolcc.co.uk

Membership of Hantspol Cycling Club is currently restricted to employees, past and present, of Hampshire Constabulary, to their families and to the Special Constabulary.

2002 kicks off with the 3rd running of Hantspol’s early season Reliability Rides on 13th January, this year expected to attract a friendly, competitive entry exceeding last year’s 50 riders.

Hantspol CC has a history of competing in and promoting Time Trials stretching back over several years. Over recent years, the club has successfully promoted Open and Emergency Services Time Trials over 10 & 25 miles, including the Police Athletic Association National Championships also over 10 & 25 miles, all of which the club are proud to be promoting once again in 2002. The club has also promoted local club events, the last 2 years having seen the club joining the Portsdown Time Trial League, for which a 15 mile time trial will be held in 2002.

More recently the Hantspol has taken to promoting Road Races and Circuit Races. Despite the decimation of the Road Racing season due to the Foot & Mouth crisis and the loss of the Daedalus Circuit, two Portsdown Road Races went ahead in 2001 and full fields of 60 riders were seen in each. The popular format, course and organisation will be repeated in 2002 on 12th May and 23rd June. Excellent co-operation from the Hampshire Constabulary Traffic Department can be anticipated for the third successive year in which Hantspol CC will promote road racing under BCF rules on this testing parcours.

Circuit Racing under the rules of The League International returns again in 2002 on the popular and safe closed motor racing circuit at Thruxton.

Despite its small numbers, the club has had its successes:

In 2001, Kath Willoughby won the Police Athletic Association Mountain Bike Championship; Adam Slade, now a Junior, has held national championship titles as a Youth rider.
In October, 2001 the club scored spectacularly when multi World Champion, Nicole Cooke graced the annual prize presentation with her honoured presence, further delighting members by riding out on the following day’s Sunday club run which attracted some 50 riders from local clubs.

2001 Hantspol Champions (trophies presented by Nicole Cooke):
Club Champion
Adam Slade

Road Race Champion
Adam Slade

Time Trial Champion
Adam Slade

Mountain Bike Champion
Kath Willoughby

Ian Bielby Memorial for Clubman of the Year
Alan Slade

Competition is not the club’s only interest. Social attendance at cycling events is a major feature each season for its members, who regularly travel to spectate at World Championships on both track and road and at the Tour de France.

Come and visit our new website at: http://www.hantspolcc.co.uk
for details of all our 2002 promotions.

Our category listings:

Cycling : 2 - Cycling Clubs and Associations

Send This Listing To Someone

Find a Club