Royal Welsh Yacht Club
Porth Yr Aur
The Royal Welsh Yacht Club is the Senior Yacht club of the principality. Since it's foundation in 1847, the club has played an important role in the life of the Royal Town of Caernarfon.
The Club was originally established under the Royal Patronage of the Dowager Queen Adelaide, The widow of King William IV.
This Royal Patronage was continued by Albert Edward, Prince of Wales, whilst only 18 Years of age and confirmed by him when he acceded to the throne as King Edward VII. It was later confirmed by his son King George V.
The present patron of the club is His Royal Highness Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh.
The first Commodore of the club was Henry Willliam Paget, the first Marquess of Anglesey, K.G. who commanded the cavalry under the Duke of Wellington in the Battle of Waterloo, and who lost his right leg in that battle.
The first Vice Commodore was Robert Stephenson, the famous engineer, who in 1830 with his father George Stephenson constructed the world’s first passenger railway from Liverpool to Manchester.
The headquarters of the club are situated in Porth-yr-Aur (The Golden Gate), constructed in or about 1284 , the historic watergate of the walled Royal Town of Caernarfon, probably the oldest and most unique premises owned by any yacht club in the world.
In the 21st Century the club is as popular as ever, with many active members, and a full Racing, Cruising and Social Programme.
Our category listings:
Sailing : Clubs and Associations