New Zealand Names Commonwealth Games Squad

30 November 2005
by Rona Hunnisett
The listing was posted by England Netball

World Netball Champions New Zealand have named a strong squad brimming with experience to compete at the Commonwealth Games in Melbourne next March, and will be hoping to improve on their silver medal from Manchester in 2002.

Adine Wilson will captain the team, which also includes shooting sensation Irene Van Dyk, Team Northumbria's Belinda Colling, Anna Rowberry and Vilimaina Davu, all of whom competed in Manchester.  Rowberry and Colling were also in the team that won a silver medal at the 1998 Commonwealth Games in Kuala Lumpur.

Three members of the New Zealand team which won gold at last summer's World Youth Championships - Laura Langman, Maria Tutaia and Casey Williams - are also included in the Kiwi squad.

New Zealand coach Ruth Aitken is confident that her team is versatile enough to cover a variety of playing combinations, which will allow them to adapt to the opposition and change their game accordingly.

"I am pleased with the team's recent series against Jamaica and Barbados (during which they were undefeated) and we now look forward to taking on the challenge of the Commonwealth Games."

England will face New Zealand in the group rounds of the netball competition in Melbourne, which will take place from 15-26 March 2006.

The New Zealand Commonwealth Games netball team in full:  Adine Wilson (captain), Belinda Colling, Vilimaina Davu, Leana de Bruin, Temepara George, Laura Langman, Anna Rowberry, Anna Scarlett, Jodi Te Huna, Maria Tutaia, Irene Van Dyk, Casey Williams.