Three uncapped players included in 1st Investec Test squad

5th June 2014

<b><i>Julie Brown</b><br>Photo courtesy of Leaderboard Photography</i>
Julie Brown
Photo courtesy of Leaderboard Photography

England selectors today announced a 12-man squad for the 1st Investec Test against Sri Lanka commencing Thursday 12 June at Lord’s.

Alastair Cook’s squad includes three players uncapped at Test level; 24 year old batsman Sam Robson, 25 year old pace bowler Chris Jordan who has played 13 ODIs and seven T20s since making his England debut last September, and 26 year old all rounder Moeen Ali who made his ODI and T20 debuts earlier this year against West Indies.

Yorkshire pace bowler Liam Plunkett has been included in the squad seven years after winning his last Test cap which was against West Indies in 2007. Plunkett, who has been capped nine times at Test level, joins James Anderson, Stuart Broad, Chris Jordan and Chris Woakes as pace options for the opening Test of the summer.

National selector, James Whitaker, said: “The selectors would like to congratulate all the players selected in the squad for the 1st Investec Test against Sri Lanka. We would also like to acknowledge the contribution of both the County and England Performance Programme coaches in helping to develop the talents of Sam Robson, Liam Plunkett, Moeen Ali and Chris Woakes. All four have carried their exciting winter form into the domestic season to earn well deserved recognition.

“We believe that this group of emerging talent will be very well complimented by the established core of experienced players that have been selected.

“We are expecting a tough series against Sri Lanka and the Selectors would like to wish Peter Moores, Alastair Cook, the coaches and players all the best for a good performance.”

The second and final Test in the Investec Test Series takes place at Headingley beginning on Friday 20 June.

England squad
Alastair Cook (Essex) (Capt)
Moeen Ali (Worcestershire)
James Anderson (Lancashire)
Gary Ballance (Yorkshire)
Ian Bell (Warwickshire)
Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire)
Chris Jordan (Sussex)
Liam Plunkett (Yorkshire)
Matt Prior (Sussex)
Sam Robson (Middlesex)
Joe Root (Yorkshire)
Chris Woakes (Warwickshire)